Fourth Annual Lipids@Wayne Symposium

Thank you to everyone who participated in our fourth annual symposium.

Poster Session Winners

Finish Name Institution
First Place Rehemen Adili Pharmacology (University of Michigan)
Second Place Hasini Kalpage CMMG (Wayne State University)
Third Place Katherine Fahy Parmacology & Toxicology (Wright State University)

Symposium Details

Date & Time: May 10, 2017, 10AM - 6PM

Location: The A. Paul Schaap Chemistry Building, Wayne State University,
5101 Cass Ave, Detroit, MI 48202

Keynote Speaker:

Dr. Edward A. Dennis - Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry (University of California at San Diego, La Jolla, CA) - Title: "Evolution of phospholipases A2 in catalysis and allosteric regulation by membrane phospholipids"

Plenary Session I:

Dr. Rosalind Coleman - Professor, Department of Nutrition and Pediatrics (UNC, Chapel Hill, NC) - Title: "Compartmentalization of fatty acid pathways"

Dr. Jeffrey B. Travers - Professor and Chair of Pharmacology and Toxicology (Wright State University, Dayton, OH) - Title: "The Platelet-activating Factor system as an effector for environmental stressors"

Plenary Session II:

Dr. William Dowhan - Professor and John S. Dunn Chair (University of Texas Medical School, Houston, TX) - Title: "Protein Gymnastics in the Lipid Bilayer: How Lipids Determine Membrane Protein Dynamic Organization"

Dr. Gary Lopaschuk - Professor and Scientific Director of Mazankowski Alberta Hearth Institute (University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - Title: "The contribution of altered myocardial fatty acid oxidation to the severity of heart failure"

Event Photos

View of the Wayne State Chemistry building atrium

Dr. Maddipati, coordinator of the symposium, giving the opening remarks.

Dr. Jeffrey Travers gives his talk on platlet activating factors

Dr. Rosalind Coleman discussing fatty acid pathways

Dr. William Dowhan answering questions after his talk.

Dr. Gary Lopaschuk giving his acknowledgments after his talk


Symposium attendees examining the posters during the lunch

The top three winners from the judged poster session. Congratulations!

Winners of the raffle. The prize was a leather folio provided by the Eicosanoid Research Foundation.

Group photo at the end of the symposium with the invited speakers and the symposium organizing committee.

After a wonderful dinner at the beautiful Whitney mansion in Detroit.